‘Beannachtam na Feile Padraig!

images

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Because I am of Irish descent, and love a good book, a good song, a good cry, and a pint of Guinness; I wish to share my favorite Irish authors, with quote, who have inspired me along the way…

Jonathan Swift: Books, the children of the brain.

Bram Stoker: We learn of great things by little experiences.

James Joyce: The actions of men are the best interpreters of their thoughts.

Oscar Wilde: Wisdom comes with winters.

CS Lewis: No book is really worth reading at the age of ten which is not equally-and often far more-worth reading at the age of fifty and beyond.

And now I go look for my pint of Guinness!

Slainte!

About Valleygrail

Native Californian by birth, Pacific Northwesterner by choice. Jack of all trades, master of none; always wishing I could stick with just one thing long enough to become expert. But then what about all those things left unattended? See? Not possible. I love life, my family, friends, a good book, Irish music, rain, fog, and a pint of Guinness. It's a good journey, and sharing with companions makes it even better. Thanks for being with me as I embrace it and you!
This entry was posted in Baby Boomers, Books, Irish, Life Journey, St Patrick's Day, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘Beannachtam na Feile Padraig!

  1. Barneysday says:

    A real pint, from a dark pub in Dublin, is the Best!

  2. Thanks for the great little nuggets of Irish wit. Especially love that Oscar Wilde quote: Wisdom comes with winters. Hope he was right because after the winter we’ve just had, we’ll all be a lot wiser. Happy St Paddy’s Day!

  3. gpcox says:

    Hope you had one terrific day!

  4. skinnyuz2b says:

    I confess that I didn’t know most of these authors were Irish. Good post.

Leave a Reply

