The Unknown Beckons: Sputnik To Spaced Out Radio And Beyond


I have mentioned, before, how I was impacted by the Soviet launch in October, 1957 of the first artificial Earth satellite. Sputnik. It was not just the idea of this shiny, 23 inch metal sphere whirling around my planet at 18,000 mph, taking 96.2 minutes to complete each orbit; it was the realization, through and because of my tiny transistor radio, I could listen to, participate in, and dream of places outside my little valley home. 

Sputnik had four external radio antennae to broadcast radio pulses that were monitored by amateur radio operators throughout the world. Since I was ten years old, and did not understand the complexities of such things as MHz, I believed my transistor radio would pick up the pulses, and I could listen to them every night in my bed. 

During those twenty-one days, before Sputnik’s battery died, I never heard a single pulse, but I did start a lifelong love of radio at night. It became my magic carpet. If atmospheric conditions were just right, or I pointed the antenna in a certain direction, I could pick up voices and music from far away places; places to a young country girl that were wild and exotic! San Francisco, Sacramento, and on a good night, Los Angeles. 

Today, so much has changed, and yet stayed the same. I still love radio, and take its magic carpet ride every night. But now, instead of a transistor radio and one little ear piece headphone, I listen on an iPhone with two earbuds. It’s all practically the same size; however, the scope of what I have available, due to the internet and cell phone technology, makes what I received on my transistor radio a microscopic introduction to the world of broadcasting. And I’m exceedingly grateful for the advancement which has provided me with a nightly show I only could have dreamed of all those years ago when Sputnik was launched. 

For three hours each evening, listeners throughout the world meet up for a voyage into the realms of ufology, paranormal, supernatural, cryptozoological, conspiratorial, and may participate in really challenging discussions of all that is pertinent to these realities. 

The guests are as varied as the topics; the listening audience is smart, educated, and sassy. Listeners post questions in real time, and receive answers that explain, complicate, amuse, and often lead to more questions. It is lively, and it is personal. No one walks away from this show without having been shaken, confirmed, challenged, or comforted in some way. 

The show is Spaced Out Radio, broadcast seven days a week, from 9:00 PM to midnight PST, from British Columbia, Canada. It is a relatively new show, having been on the air since November, 2014. Its programming is fresh, varied, provides a topic of interest to everyone, and sparks new paths and ideas to consider in anyone’s life journey. 

The hosts are Dave Scott, owner and weeknight host of SOR (that’s what we call our show), and James Tyson who, along with Elizabeth Anglin, take the listener through the weekends. These three are professionals who are able to convey the most complicated information while making the listener feel on board and involved. Over time, one becomes so much a part of this show, it is more like settling in with family every night than just being an invisible member of an indifferent audience. 

Dave will make you feel at home, a place one always wanted to be. He’s informed, smart, funny, and loves his listeners. One trusts him, completely. Elizabeth is a joy to hear. She has been everywhere, and is incredibly gifted and experienced in ways one hardly can imagine. James has the quickest wit out there, is knowledgeable yet still open to learning. And he has the most comforting voice in radio land. All together, these hosts compel the listener to join in, open up, and allow new ideas, information, and realities to expand our lives, exceed our limitations, and soar where only that magic carpet can take us. 

It is a long way from Sputnik to Spaced Out Radio, but we are still looking up, listening for those pulses, and joined together in unity of purpose and interest. It is a great voyage, and as long as the unknown beckons, we will be ready for each new adventure, terrestrial and beyond. 

About Valleygrail

Native Californian by birth, Pacific Northwesterner by choice. Jack of all trades, master of none; always wishing I could stick with just one thing long enough to become expert. But then what about all those things left unattended? See? Not possible. I love life, my family, friends, a good book, Irish music, rain, fog, and a pint of Guinness. It's a good journey, and sharing with companions makes it even better. Thanks for being with me as I embrace it and you!
This entry was posted in 1950's, Baby Boomers, Childhood, Learning, Life Journey, Memories, Soviet Union, Sputnik, Radio and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Unknown Beckons: Sputnik To Spaced Out Radio And Beyond

  1. Ginene Nagel says:

    I, too, was enthralled with getting far away radio stations to come in clear enough to listen to the shows from the safe vantage place of under the covers. Listening to the weather, news and music from a far off city seemed exotic as it actually was different than a midwestern program and an accent could be heard. Now, we are all so generic. But then, I would even listen to a farm report which I would never have heard in suburban Chicago. So mysterious!
    Ginene

  2. Laughed a bit when you mentioned the sophisticated world of Sacramento, but then I thought back on my own childhood when Sacramento was an almost incomprehensible 40 miles away from Diamond Springs, which gave it a certain allure. I like the sound of SOR — your description is enticing. Unfortunately, it lives on the edge of my bedtime. 🙂 –Curt

  3. Beth says:

    This “baby boomer” lady is still sharp as a tack.

    It has been a while since we chatted, but you are ever the great teacher. You bring so many things to mind that I had not considered important in their day, yet I see they really are. How do you do that?

Leave a Reply

